Look Like a Pro in the Gym

It is no secret that strength training is my love.  I have been working out for years, but found my love for strength training only a couple years ago.  Rewind a few years ago and you would have found me working out for hours.  The workout consisted of a lot of cardio and some weight training.  I was skinny but still felt “fat” and did not feel I was making gains.  It was not until I started focusing on strength training that I noticed a change in my body.  I now have muscle definition.  I am lean, strong, and fit.  Strength training made me love my body and respect my body.

It can be intimidating and hard to start a strength training routine.  Often, without hiring a personal trainer, you don’t know where to begin.  I think women avoid the free weight area of the gym because they are lost and not sure where to begin.  And it seems that people think they need to spend hours in the gym lifting weights to but your strength workout is very effective with only an hour of work. There is no need to spend hours in the gym lifting weights.   Well I am here to show you how to get an effective full body strength workout that will leave you a lean and fit machine.

This workout is simple enough to follow and simple enough that form should be maintained.  This workout will make you look like a pro in the gym.  Just grab a set of weights and start moving.  You can do this workout at home or at the gym.

Set 1: 1 warm up set; 3 work sets 12 reps – The first set is a warm up set.  Grab a weight that you feel comfortable with and lift for 6, if if it is too light, go up another weight.  Find a weight that is challenging to complete 12 reps.

21 point bicep curl

Overhead Tricep Extension

Squat

Side Crunch

Set 2: 1 warm up set; 3 work sets 12 reps – The first is a warm up set.  Grab a weight that you feel comfortable with and lift for 6, if it is too light, go up another weight.  Find a weight that is challenging to complete 12 reps.  You will need a bench for the next 4 exercises.

Chest Press

Back Fly

Split Squat

Leg Lifts

Set 3: 1 warm up set; 3 work sets 12 reps – The first is a warm up set.  Grab a weight that you feel comfortable with and lift for 6, if it is too light, go to another weight.  Find a weight that is challenging to complete 12 reps.

These combo exercises will get the heart rate up for an extra calorie burn!

Reverse Lunge with shoulder raise Right side for 12/Left Side for 12

Squat with Shoulder Press

Single Leg Dead Lift with hammer curl

Twists

Did you enjoy the show in the background? Stay fit!

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Questions I have about guys at the gym | The Kimberly Diaries

Leave a comment