Liebster Award!!!

Wow! Just Wow!  I started this blog in January.  I really had no idea what writing a blog was all about.  I have spent 8+ years in graduate studies and I have written countless papers.  I started this blog as a way to make my writing fun and spread information I have learned over the years.  I never really thought or expected anyone to read this.  Turns out people are reading it, and it turns out that some people like what I have to say.

I found out today, that a reader and fellow blogger has nominated my blog for the Liebster Blog Award!  I feel so honored.  I feel excited that people want to read what I have to write.  What I blog about is important to me so I am thankful that others are finding ways to make wellness a part of their life.  Thank you Jojo for the sweet nod.

The term Liebster is German for dearest, sweetest, kindest.  This Award is awarded by fellow bloggers.  Once nominated you get to answer fun questions provided by the person that nominates you.  Then if you choose to accept the award you provide questions and as you find blogs that uphold the values of the Liebster Award you nominate them.  The new nominee tags the person that nominates them and answers the questions provided by the person that nominates them.  The new Liebster Award nominee continues to “pay it forward” by creating their own list of questions and nominating other for the Award.

So with this exciting honor I have been asked to answer some questions.  I am about to tell you all a little bit about me.

1.  Who is my favorite Disney character?

This is an easy one.  Ariel the Little Mermaid.  She is pretty.  But she is not the traditional blonde haired, blue eyed princess.  No, she had wild red hair.  Ariel is rebellious, and that is something I can totally relate too.  You see I struggle with boundaries and limitations.  I am not trying to be a serial killer and violate others, but I want to experience life, people, things, and the world and so I do not like when I am told I cannot do something.  Like Ariel, I have gotten into some trouble in attempts to experience the world.  But like Ariel I know there is something more out there for me, and I willing to sacrifice things to get it!

2.  What do you look for in a person?

I love creativity and people that are spiritually connected.  My husband is an artist, videographer, photographer, and musician.  He is spiritually and emotionally connected.  He knows there is more to this world than just ourselves.  I am drawn to people that have a story and have overcome adversity.  I want friends and people near me that can teach me something and can offer a new way to look at things.

3.  What do you want to be when you grow up? And if you have found your career, what do you enjoy about it?

I knew from an early age that I wanted to be a psychologist.  I did not always know what that meant.  In fact the role of psychologist is still being defined for me.  I love that I get to help people.  I have worked with children that were sexually, emotionally, and physically abused for years.  I hate that this position is needed.  However I became a better person working with these amazingly strong children.  I got to witness children and families face something so traumatic and find strength inside to learn to love themselves, their bodies, and find hope for their futures.  I was only there to provide a safe place and an encouraging environment to do so.  Although I loved doing that, I have found that I can use my passion for fitness and health to help people find wellness.  I want to help people know they can love, self-esteem, and achieve their goals by improving their mental health, their emotional health, their spiritual health, and their physical health.

4.  What do you look forward to about being old?

I don’t.  Honestly being old is scary for me.  I really struggled when I turned 30.  However, if I really think about life and the journey of life I know I will only get better with age.  In my 20s I was a Hot Mess.  I was clueless and honestly an idiot.  I turned 30 and I no longer cared about what others thought of me.  I started to learn to love myself and I started to have the esteem and the motivation to work toward my goals and passions.  I am just getting started living my dreams, so I know the older I get the bigger my dreams will get.  The older I get the more tools, experience, resources, and support I will have to fulfill my dreams.

5.  What would you do if you have only ten hours to live?

I do not fear death.  I do not take chances with my life, but I am not afraid because I have a belief in Heaven and a better place.  If I knew in 10 hours I would be going to this place, I would have a party!  I would invite my friends and loved ones over and we would celebrate.  I would hug them all, kiss them all, and we would laugh, eat, and be merry.

6.  If someone came up to you and slapped you for no reason, what would you do to them?

Although I hate physical violence, I am Italian and hot tempered.  I am strong, strong-willed, and proud.  I would use my tongue and assault them verbally and cannot promise that I would not slap them back.  A slap to a face is disrespectful and I do not tolerate disrespect toward others.

7.  How old do you want to be when you die?

Going along with #5, I hope to live a long and fulfilling life.  I see that people can be fit, active, fun, and flourishing well into their 90s.  If that is me then I hope I to live as long as possible.  However I do not want to be ill, weak, limited, or disabled.   So as long as I can kick, run, stretch, and party then the party of life shall go on.

8.  f you had a limit of 24 words to say to someone, what would you say? And whom to?

My husband.  He saved me.  He took me from party, wild girl to a wife.  He taught me that I am lovable, beautiful, and unique.  When I thought I was not deserving of love he taught me I was.  I love him more than I can ever express in words.  (oops that is more than 24 words…I have the gift of gab, so I find I say more than less).

9.  How would you react if your biggest fear came true?

I would freak out.  I would scream, cry, yell, get angry, get frustrated, and lie on the floor and just weep.  Then I would pray.  In my weakest moments all I can do is pray and know that my God will be there to save me, lift me, and protect me.

10. If you could be any animal, which would you be and why?

A leopard.  They are beautiful, smart, strong, and powerful.  They are majestic, mysterious, and rare.  I hope to be these things and when I die I hope this is part of my legacy.

Wow! Those were some powerful questions.  I love self-reflection.  If you read this, I ask you to answer these questions for yourself.  Now as a nominee of the Liebster Blog Award I will pay it forward.  If I nominate you for this awesome award, I ask you to answer the following questions.

1.  If you could live anywhere, where would you live and why?

2. What is the first thing you think about when you wake up?

3. If you had a whole day with no plans how would you spend your day?

4. What makes you beautiful?

5. Do you believe in a Higher Power? If so, what does your Higher Power mean to you?

6. If you had only 1 day to live, what would you do?

7.  If you won the lottery what would you do with the winnings?

8.  What is your favorite season and why?

9.  What is your favorite childhood memory?

10.  If you had a super power what would it be and why?

Please let me know when you answer your questions.  I would love to hear about you!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

